4 Paws For Drake!
 
We took Drake for an Occupational Therapy evaluation today.  He's been evaluated before through Help Me Grow (he attends classes twice a week through HMG), and had been referred for additional private therapies by his developmental pediatrician...we knew he was delayed, yet I still had this slim hope in the back of my mind that we'd be told today that he was developing right on track and didn't need their help.  Instead, we were advised that he should begin OT once a week as soon as possible.  Due to the center's overwhelming caseload however, they weren't able to get him in to start until June 25th and he'll only be able to go every other week for a while until they have more openings.  It was apparent during his evaluation that he has a lot of sensory stuff going on.  I don't know why that came as a pretty big surprise to me.  We've suspected Sensory Processing Disorder for quite some time now with our older son, Kevin.  They boys react to things so differently that I guess I just never really recognized that Drake just seems to be on the opposite end of the spectrum in many regards.

He's also scheduled for a physical therapy evaluation on June 28th and we are on a wait list for a speech evaluation - they said that could be another 3-4 weeks.  If anyone out there is a pediatric therapist, Rehab Dynamics in Toledo is in desperate need of additional therapists!

I'm glad Drake will be getting the extra help that he needs.  But I can't say I'm looking forward to driving to Toledo several times a week (once the other inevitable therapy sessions are recommended).
7/15/2012 11:24:28 am

good post

Reply



Leave a Reply.