4 Paws For Drake!
 
Wishing all you dads out there a wonderful Father's Day!  We celebrated this evening with a barbeque dinner at my parents' house.  I can't begin to express how thankful I am for having family so close by and all the support they provide.  Watching my boys go back and forth between their father and my own father filled me with so much joy today!

Sadly the day also involved a small blow to our hopes that Drake was on the road to being seizure free.  While playing outside this afternoon, he had a brief seizure.  Anyone that didn't know what to look for would never have even recognized it as a seizure.  He was standing on the porch looking out over the yard and babbling to the birdies when all of a sudden his head jerked to the right as if he were looking over his shoulder and his eyes rolled up and to the right so far you could barely see the color of his iris anymore.  It only lasted a second or two, but afterwards he was very quiet and just looked out over the yard seeming a bit dazed.  It took about 5 minutes for him to return to smiling and babbling.  And with this small seizure, the 13 day streak of being seizure free ended.  As I entered the seizure in our seizure tracker I noticed that this was the 75th logged seizure.  But because so many of his seizures are fast and minor, such as today's, we suspect there are many more that we never see and I'd guess he's now well over 100 seizures since this all started February 17, 2009.  Tomorrow we begin the "seizure-free" countdown again.



Leave a Reply.