4 Paws For Drake!
 
But we desperately need your help!  We received an invoice today for the first three months of this medication, and it is 1,080 euros.  That's roughly $1550!  Insurance will hopefully reimburse us at some point, but it could take months, or even years, to run the appeal gauntlet to get coverage.  In the mean time, we must pay out of pocket.

Stiripentol is the only drug currently designed specifically for Dravet Syndrome.  The drug is not FDA approved, but does have "orphan drug" status; meaning we can get the drug from France, but most insurances will not cover it.  Drake's neurologist had been holding off on prescribing it based on the cost factor.  However, after the last few seizures, he recommended it was time to give this one a shot; we had no idea what the initial cost would be until after the drugs were already on their way to us (other than knowing it would not be cheap).  Drake has now been on various combinations of eight different seizure medications.  He's currently on four different meds.  Nothing has given us good control.  Stiripentol has been very effective for many (but not all) of the children we know that have DS.  We are very hopeful that the same will be true for Drake; it will take several months to determine its effectiveness.

At this time, any paypal donations that we receive (through the Wish List page) will go directly toward the costs of Stiripentol unless otherwise specified in the donation notes.  We thank all that are able to help, even in the smallest way.
2/3/2012 05:28:56 am

I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

Reply
2/3/2012 05:29:26 am

This is my first opportunity to visit this website. I found some interesting things and I will apply to the development of my blog. Thanks for sharing useful information.

Reply
6/21/2012 09:08:29 am

Good read

Reply
10/4/2012 02:12:03 am

This post is informative for me and all other readers...

Reply
10/4/2012 02:52:28 am

I love this type of informative blog very much.

Reply



Leave a Reply.